Run run run…

Hiya,

I know all of you have been simply devastated by the lack of updates.  I apologize.  I wish I could say that I’ve been too busy saving puppies from burning buildings, but to be honest, I just haven’t been trying hard enough.  I’m going to see if I can do something about that.

I hopped on the scale the other day, and I wasn’t too pleased by what I saw.  Now, to be honest, I don’t care that much about my weight because a) it’s really not an indication of fitness or health, and b) my weight can fluctuate 5-7 pounds in the course of a day.  Like back in June when I went running when the heat index was 105 degrees (not the best idea I’ve ever had).  But still, it confirmed the feeling I’ve been having that I have not been leading the healthiest lifestyle ever.

Luckily, my lovely wife who has much more willpower than I do has been training rigorously for the half marathon we are doing in a couple of weeks.  So I’ve been joining her for some of her weekend long runs.  Last week she did 11 miles (I did 7), and today she did 12 (I ended up at 10.5 with a sore knee).  Surprisingly, I felt a lot better after today’s run than I did a week ago.  Not nearly as sore.  Of course, doing a better job managing hydration and running in cooler weather probably helped quite a bit as well.  But I have to say that I love the feeling of knowing that I’ve done a solid workout for the day, so now I can sit on the couch, drink a couple of beers, and watch football.  GO BRONCOS!

Leave a Reply

