Spring Rolls Don’t Steam Well

Would you look at the fast and furious updating that is going on here?  I’m like a machine!  Or at least a machine with a little extra time.

This is another food related post, because quite honestly, cooking dinner is generally the most interesting part of my day.  A few days ago, I tried this recipe for Pork and Shrimp Summer Rolls (BTW, “Fine Cooking” is a great publication, if you like to cook, get a subscription).  I thought the recipe was decent, but just boiling the pork seemed kind of boring.  So I decided to try my own variation.

Completely uncharacteristically, I did this with no recipe at all.  I am typically religious about following recipes to the letter, but this time, I just winged it.  As a result, I have no idea exactly how much of the ingredients I used, so I can’t write it here.  Sorry.

I made a marinade of rice wine vinegar, sriracha, hoisin sauce, fresh ginger, garlic and soy sauce.  I figured this combined acidic, salt, hot and sweet flavors to get something complex.  I remember reading that this combination is part of the magic behind Pad Thai, so why not here?

I marinated some pork tenderloin for a couple of hours (yes, I know, it should have probably been 8-24 hours, but I didn’t have the presence of mind last night with the Broncos playing so poorly).  I then roasted in the oven at 350 degrees for about 18 minutes (looking for an internal temperature of 140 degrees).  Then I boiled the remaining marinade for a couple of minutes to make it safe for eating.

 

What you see here is the inside of the roll: cooked rice noodles, pork, sauce, quick pickled carrots (strips of carrot covered with hot distilled vinegar mixed with a little salt, sugar and red pepper flake), caramelized onions and cilantro.  You then wrap them up in the rice wrapper (you can just see it underneath everything else).  This takes a little practice, but if you’re not too caught up in appearance, it’s not too hard.

At this point, you could serve them, as everything is fully cooked.  But I wanted to have everything nice and hot, so I thought I would sort of pan-fry/steam them like pot stickers.  The pan-fry portion went ok (although I used too small a pan), but the steaming was a terrible idea.  I added some chicken broth and covered the pan, and two minutes later… well, actually the rice wrappers kind of melted like some weird deep-sea creature unable to survive out of water.  Whoops.  But it still tasted pretty good.  Worth trying again, but this time, I’ll skip the steaming.

Until next time, happy eating!

Leave a Reply

