Races are Fun

Hi folks!

I’ve been a bit quiet recently, and I’m sorry to say that’s because I haven’t had much to report.  It was kind of a busy week, so I went back to some old staples for dinner, and I’m getting back to my normal workouts, which aren’t really interesting enough to write a post on.  Of course, the fact that they’re not that interesting might be telling me I need to switch it up.

Anyway, scrolling through Facebook today, I saw that some people I went to college with recently completed a “Zombie 5k”.  Quite frankly, a title like that deserves at least a Google search.  The all-mighty search engine will likely direct you to runforyourlives.com (I love the name).  If you’ve got a couple minutes, watch the video.  I’ve never seen a 5k look so intense.  I feel like I should do everything in my life in slow motion with pumping music in the background.

It’s funny, I’m really not one for most things zombie-related with the exception of the awesome game “Plants vs. Zombies”.  As an aside, if you haven’t played that game, buy it for your phone/iPad/computer, call in sick for the week, and prepare to start shuffling around your home muttering “bwainz”.  Anyway, like I was saying, despite the fact that I’m not really into the whole horror genre, the idea of running an obstacle race that has the added element of dodging zombies really appeals to me.  It’s a constantly evolving obstacle, and there’s that little part of everyone that wonders how they would fare in a zombie apocalypse.  Or is that just me?

But it got me thinking about the races I’ve done.  Quite frankly, my list is not too impressive.  A local 5k, a 5k mud run, a Tough Mudder and a half-marathon.  I’m highly confident there are 14 year olds out there with more races under their belts.  But I have to say, if you’ve ever thought about signing up for one, do it.  I think it helps motivate you to train for something, you often get free food and t-shirts, and perhaps the biggest reason of all: races are fun.

Take the Colorado Tough Mudder.  The course was 2 miles longer than advertised, I was routinely submerged in sub-40 degree water, I got hit with 10,000 volts of electricity IN MY EAR, and I still had a great time!  There’s something about being around a group of people who are all out there to accomplish something.  Sure you might be racing against them, but the atmosphere of common goal and achievement overrules it.  Also, that little bit of competition will help drive you a little harder.  Of course, it’s even better if you get to take on these challenges with some buddies, so grab your friends, pick a race, and just think how much better that beer will taste when you’ve done a race beforehand.

One thought on “Races are Fun

  1. Pingback: Training With a Purpose: Ski Season is Upon Us! | Mountain Boy/Urban Gent

Leave a Reply

