Back to Basics: Oven Roasted Chicken

Hi folks,

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve posted, and I wish I could blame it entirely on Hurricane Sandy, but alas, that’s only part of it.  A week without power does put a damper on computer usage, but then with Thanksgiving, a work trip and a pyscotically hectic life over the last month, and this sort of fell by the wayside.  But I’m back!

Anyway, the recipe I’m showcasing here is what I like to call “Wifey Chicken”.  The original recipe (found here) calls this “Engagement Chicken”, but by the time my wife made it for me, we were already married, hence: “Wifey Chicken”.  It even has its own Wikipedia entree.  That’s how you know it’s legit.

This is a pretty basic recipe, but it’s undeniably delicious.  First you wash and season the chicken, and pour lemon juice over and inside it:
P1020603Then you stuff it with a couple of lemons and throw it in the oven.
P1020624While it bakes, I suggest prepping some vegitables.  We’re currently following the “paleolithic diet” for a couple of weeks to make up for a somewhat glutenous Thanksgiving week, but it’s also very good with potatoes or risotto.
P1020625Anyway, I find the chicken’s cooking time to not really match the recipes, but once the temperature hits 180 degrees in the thickest part of the thigh, it’s probably done.  While it rests, I’d recommend making a gravy, because who doesn’t like gravy?

I started by browning the giblets:
P1020609And then simmering them in the pan drippings.  I seasoned it with salt, pepper, nature’s seasoning and gravy master.  Then just mix in some flour and your done!
P1020628And then you end up with this:

P1020641A nice homey meal, that tastes especially good with the cold weather of the season.

Leave a Reply

