CrossFit – The Kool-Aid Is Good

Greeting all!

I’m not sure why it’s taken me this long to get around to doing a post about CrossFit.  I’ve been going to Village CrossFit here in Houston since March, and I’ve really enjoyed it.  Then again, given my glacial pace of posting, I suppose it’s not too surprising.  But anyway, I thought I’d share my thoughts.

I was first introduced to CrossFit by my flying instructor several years ago.  When I looked it up, I have to say, I wasn’t impressed.  The workouts looked so short.  I was used to going to the gym for 45 minutes to an hour, and here you were looking at 10, 12, and 15 minute workouts.  So I didn’t give it much thought for a while.

Fast forward to last year.  I went to a free class at CrossFit Hoboken, and I thought I was going to die.  I hadn’t had my body feel that wrung out in years, and the actual workout lasted all of 16 minutes.  Unfortunately, with my work schedule, it wasn’t possible for me to attend on a regular basis.  But I would still occasionally look on the main CrossFit website for inspiration when I felt my workouts were getting stale.

After moving to Houston, I did a quick search for CrossFit gyms, and wouldn’t you know it, there were about 5 gyms within 5 miles.  And there are a whole lot more scattered around Houston.  All of the gyms offered the opportunity to come in for a free class, which I really appreciated.  While all of them seemed nice, Village CrossFit made the strongest impression.  Mostly I spend the day after the free class limping around feeling like I had literally been beaten.
finished-a-crossfit-wo-baby

Seriously.  But apparently I’m one of those stupid people who just heads right back to the abuse (see my posts regarding the CO Tough Mudder and the NJ Tough Mudder).  Oh, and for added stupidity, I attend the 5:00 class.  As in 0500.  As in o-my-god it’s early.

I go the god-awful early class primarily because if I went to an afternoon class, I’d probably end up canceling for both legitimate (had to stay late at work) and non-legitimate (I want to go home and eat cheesy poofs) reasons.  Also, you have to cancel at least 3 hours in advance, so unless I want to get up at 2 am to cancel the class, I gotta go, or I’m out the money.

And speaking of money, I will say this: CrossFit is expensive, but for me, it’s worth it.  I like how I don’t have to think about the workout.  I show up, and someone tells me exactly what I’m going to do.  I also like the small class set up.  Competition fuels performance.  For example, last week, the coach yelled “Don’t let her beat you out the door” while we were doing some SDHPs, so I really poured it on to finish my set before heading out for the 400 m run.  50 feet later I almost collapsed.  I had nothing left in the tank.  I don’t think I can really push myself like that without some help.

Anyway, if you’ve considered trying CrossFit, go for it.  Most places will let you try out a class or two for free, and once you go for a couple of weeks, I’d give better than 50/50 odds you’ll get hooked.  Unless your workout has burpees.  I hate those so much.

Catch you next time.

Leave a Reply

