This is not gonna be fun…

Today marks day one of a forty day paleo challenge.  I cannot express how excited I am.  Because I’m not.  My favorite food is pizza, and based on the prohibition of flour and cheese imposed by paleo, I can have a pile of pizza sauce with veggies.  Woohoo.

To be clear, while I plan on following the spirit of paleo, I am not going to follow it to the letter.  My meat will not be organic, grass-fed creatures who were hunted down with sharpened sticks.  Nor am I going to seek out condiments (think ketchup, mustard, etc) that contain nothing but organic veggies and the sweat of angels.  But I am going to avoid grains, dairy, sugar and as much processed food as possible.

I am doing this because while I am pretty good about staying active, my diet is lacking in discipline.  I love pasta, rice, cookies, cheese, pizza, milkshakes, fried food, etc…  Done well, it’s delicious (and let’s face it, mediocre pizza is still pretty good).  But I’ve wondered if I could get better gains if I paired working out (currently a mix of running and Crossfit) with a seriously planned diet.  There’s a certain amount of vanity here, I’ll admit.  I think of the statements “bodies are built in the kitchen, not the gym” and that “gains are 80% diet based” and the like, and while I don’t quite believe it, what’s the harm in looking into it.

A bunch of the other people at Village Crossfit have also bought into this challenge, so hopefully the group as a whole will help keep me honest.  Also, there’s the 1 mile run + 50 burpee penalty for cheating.  So here’s hoping I’ll see some results in April.

3 thoughts on “This is not gonna be fun…

  1. Pingback: Don’t you just hate it when virtue has its rewards? | Mountain Boy/Urban Gent

  2. Pingback: Unconventional WODs – Because who wants to sleep in on the weekend? | Mountain Boy/Urban Gent

  3. Pingback: Here we go again… | Mountain Boy/Urban Gent

Leave a Reply

